Published On: Fri, May 22nd, 2020

Facebook rolls out underline to assistance women in India simply close their accounts

Facebook has rolled out a new reserve underline in India that will capacitate users to simply close their comment so that people they are not friends with on a height can't perspective their posts and wizz into and download their form design and cover photo.

The underline is generally directed during women to give them some-more control over their Facebook experience, a association said. “We are deeply wakeful of a concerns people in India, quite women, have about safeguarding their online profile,” pronounced Ankhi Das, Public Policy Director during Facebook India, in a statement.

Locking a form relates mixed existent remoteness settings and several new measures to a user’s Facebook form in a few taps, a association said. Once a user has sealed their account, people they are not friends with will no longer be means to see photos and posts — both ancestral and new — and wizz into, share, and download form cinema and cover photos.

“We have mostly listened from immature girls that they are wavering to share about themselves online and are intimidated by a thought of someone misusing their information. we am really happy to see that Facebook is creation efforts to learn about their concerns and building products that can give them a knowledge they want. This new reserve underline will give women, generally immature girls a possibility to demonstrate themselves freely,” pronounced Ranjana Kumari, Director during New Delhi-based women advocacy organisation Centre for Social Research, in a statement.

A user can close a comment by drumming on More underneath their name, afterwards drumming a Lock Profile symbol and a acknowledgment symbol that prompts afterward.

Prior to Thursday’s announcement, this underline was accessible to users in Bangladesh, a Facebook orator told TechCrunch.

The new underline appears to be an prolongation of a identical bid Facebook done in 2017 in India to fight catfishing. That feature, called Profile Picture Guard, authorised users to strengthen their form design from being zoomed into and common by their friends and those not in a crony list.

About the Author